Hoch auf dem gelben Wagen

„Hoch auf dem gelben Wagen
Sitz’ ich bei’m Schwager vorn.
Vorwärts die Rosse jagen,
Lustig schmettert das Horn.
Felder und Wiesen und Auen,
Wogendes Aehrengold. –
Möchte wohl gerne noch schauen
Aber der Wagen rollt.“

Text from Wikipedia

So I don’t normally post in German, since I know most people don’t read German. The text isn’t so important, unless people can read it (which I do suggest, because it’s also nice). I put it there, just the first verse, though the rest can be found by following the link to the German Wikipedia page for the article. The song is a Volkslied (folk song) in Germany, something I first heard in Baden-Würrtemberg this Spring. It’s a catchy tune though, even if you can’t understand German.

I just particularly love this song. It’s great and puts a smile on my face. It never fails to remind me of Freiburg.

Categories: Music | Tags: , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Hoch auf dem gelben Wagen

  1. I used to be fluent…. but I haven’t used it in so long that I’ve forgotten most of the vocabulary I had. I’m going to have to get back into the language- it’s so much fun to speak!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

